

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Department of Criminal Justice Services

Shannon Dion Director

Megan Peterson Chief Deputy Director Washington Building 1100 Bank Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 786-4000 www.dcjs.virginia.gov

Criminal Justice Services Board

December 9, 2021

Patrick Henry Building

1111 E. Broad Street Richmond, VA 23219 East Reading Room

Members Present

Ms. Mary Biggs
Ms. Valerie Boykin
Chief Craig Branch
Ms. Angie Carrera
Ms. Tonya Chapman
Officer Bennie Evans, Jr.
Ms. Lisa Hernandez for
Mr. Harold Clarke
Mr. Michael HuYoung
Mr. David Johnson
Mr. Jagdish Katyal
Mr. Edward M. Macon
Senator Jennifer McClellan
The Hon. Bryan Porter
Mr. K. Scott Miles

Members Present (Cont'd)

Ms. Pat Smith Superintendent William Smith Chief James Williams, Chair Chief Kelvin Wright

Members Absent

Sheriff Vanessa Crawford
The Hon. Karrie Delaney
The Hon. Sarah Deneke
The Hon. Carolyn Dull
Delegate Jerrauld "Jay" Jones
The Hon. Mary Malveaux
Senator Joe Morrisey
Sheriff Anthony Roper
Colonel Gary Settle
Mr. Paul Taylor

I. Call to Order and Approval of Minutes

Chairman Chief James Williams called the meeting of the Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) to order at 11:05 a.m. A quorum of the Board was present.

Chief Kelvin Wright made the motion, seconded by Mr. David Johnson, to accept the minutes of the October 14, 2021, meeting of the Board. Ms. Biggs abstained from the vote. The motion passed.

II. Director's Report

Ms. Shannon Dion, Director of the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS), gave an update on the recent and upcoming activities of DCJS:

- DCJS has been awarded approximately \$375,000 through a federal program called Project Safe Neighborhoods to reduce gun and gang violence.
- DCJS will be the fiscal agent for two grants to the U.S. Attorney's offices in the Eastern and Western Districts.
- DCJS's Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety (VCSCS) recently pushed out suicide prevention public service announcements using social media platforms including YouTube, Tik Tok and Snap Chat. The view rate has been 55%, exceeding the campaign benchmark of 40%, and users aged between 18 and 24 make up most of the views.
- A grant recommendation will come before the board that will help fund the establishment of a new Victim Witness office in Rappahannock County. If approved by the CJSB, this project will be one of 114 local and state victim assistance agencies that serve victims in Virginia.

III. Committee Reports

• Executive Committee

Chief Williams updated the Board on the results of two decertification appeals that were decided at the Executive Committee meeting held on October 25, 2021.

• Grants Committee

Chief Williams gave an update from the Grants Committee which met on November 30, 2021. There was a quorum of committee members present at the meeting. The committee recommended the full Board approve of the following grants:

- Coronavirus Supplemental Emergency Funding in the amount of \$4,133,355 in federal funding for 116 awards.
- Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant funding in the amount of \$2,631,553 in federal funding for 116 awards.
- Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Program Title II Grant funding in the amount of \$687,917 in federal funds for eight awards.
- Sexual Assault Services Program funding in the amount of \$525,306 in federal funds for 24 awards.

- Victim Witness Grant Program funding in the amount of \$118,348 federal funds for one award.
- The Committee approved reallocation of funding for the most recent Virginia Sexual and Domestic Violence Victim Fund awards, replacing previously approved special funds and Byrne/JAG funding with American Rescue Plan Act funding. The subgrantees will receive the same amount of funding, but the source of funds will change for the remainder of the fiscal year.

Chief Branch made the motion, seconded by Mr. Johnson, to approve the grant funding recommended by the Grants Committee in one block.

Recusals:

Ms. Biggs for the Byrne grants for Cardinal Criminal Justice Academy, Montgomery County Sheriff's Office and the Pamplin College of Business/VA Tech PD, as well as the CESF grants for Cardinal CJA, Western VA Regional Jail Authority, and SASP grant for the People Incorporated of Virginia.

Chief Branch for the Byrne grants for Culpeper PD, Fredericksburg PD, and Fredericksburg Sheriff's Office, Rappahannock Regional CJA, Spotsylvania Sheriff's Office, and CESF grants for Caroline County, Culpeper County, Fredericksburg, Madison County, Rappahannock Council Against Sexual Assault, Rappahannock Regional CJA, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and the SASP grant for Rappahannock Council Against Sexual Assault

Officer Bennie Evans for the Byrne grants for Alexandria Police Department, Alexandria Sheriff's Office and Arlington C/A and the CESF grants for Alexandria, OAR of Arlington, OAR of Fairfax, and the SASP grant for Alexandria

Superintendent K. Scott Miles for the CESF grant for Norfolk and the JJDP grant for Norfolk.

Chief Williams for Byrne grant and CESF grant for Central Shenandoah CJA, as well as the CESF grant for Middle River Regional Jail.

Chief Wright for the Chesapeake PD.

The motion passed.

IV. Old Business

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law Enforcement Officers: Officer Wellness Ms. Lois Kinch, Training Standards Coordinator, DCJS, presented on a proposed new category for the compulsory minimum training standards for law-enforcement officers: Officer Wellness.

Chief Wright then made a motion, seconded by Ms. Tonya Chapman, to approve adding this category to the compulsory minimum training standards. The motion passed unanimously.

Compulsory Minimum Standards for Law Enforcement Officers: Field Training
Ms. Lois Kinch, Training Standards Coordinator, DCJS, presented on changes to the Field
Training compulsory minimum training standards for law-enforcement officers.

Chief Wright then made a motion, seconded by Superintendent William Smith, to approve the modification of the mandated minimum number of field training hours from 100 hours to 240 hours. The motion passed unanimously.

V. New Business

Compulsory Minimum Standards for Basic Corrections Officers employed by the Department of Corrections

Ms. Lois Kinch, Training Standards Coordinator, DCJS, presented on Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Basic Corrections Officers employed by the Department of Corrections.

Chief Wright then made a motion, seconded by Chief Branch, to approve the modification of the mandated minimum number of field training hours from 400 hours to 320 hours. The motion passed unanimously.

Regulation for Waiver Process for Use of Certain Military Equipment

Ms. Kristi Shalton, Law Enforcement Program Coordinator, DCJS, gave a report to request the board approve new regulatory language related to the waiver process for the use of certain military equipment.

Mr. Johnson made a motion, seconded by Ms. Carrera, to approve the proposed new language.

VI. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

VII. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:40 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for March 17, 2022, at 11:00 a.m.